To change the penalty fee type for existing customers, manage the settings on the contract or package.
Go to Products > Memberships/Credits > Contracts/Packages > Edit. Select the new desired penalty fee from the drop-down, and check Retroactively update for all past sold packages.
Penalty fee types are based on when the reservation was made. Retroactively updating a penalty fee type does not change the penalty fee assigned to existing reservations. In this example:
John purchases a membership contract with a Loss of Usage penalty fee.
John books several classes before the studio changes the penalty fee type.
The studio changes the penalty fee type from Loss of Usage to Charge and enables the option to retroactively update past contracts.
If John late cancels a reservation he made before the update, the Loss of Usage penalty applies.
If John makes a new reservation after the update and later late cancels it, the Charge penalty applies.
Changing a penalty fee type affects new reservations. It does not change the penalty fee type already assigned to an existing reservation, even if the contract is updated retroactively.
Click on the Save button and confirm your selection in the confirmation modal. This job can take up to an hour to complete, depending on the number of outstanding credits in your system
If customers were previously sold a contract or package with no fees and do NOT have a card on file, once the fee is turned on and they accrue a penalty, they will go into payment failure.

